Porcupine Tree Radio

Porcupine Tree is an English band formed by Steven Wilson in 1987 in Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire. Their music is associated with both psychedelic rock and progressive rock, yet having been influenced by trance, krautrock and ambient due to Wilson and keyboardist Richard Barbieri's penchant for the Kosmische Musik scene of the early 1970s, led by bands such as Tangerine Dream, Neu! and Can. Since the early 2000s, their music has been leaning towards progressive metal and alternative rock.

The band is noted for its multimedia approach, with its live performances including screens displaying a different film projection to each song. This visual element was introduced during the tour for the In Absentia album, when the band started to work with Danish photographer and filmmaker Lasse Hoile. This involvement created a distinctive image for the band.

Despite being signed to both Roadrunner and Atlantic labels, the band have their own record label, Transmission, which they use to launch some independent releases and special editions of their albums. In 2007 the band was nominated for a Grammy Award for Best Surround Sound Album with their album Fear of a Blank Planet and then again in 2010 with The Incident.

After the release and touring in support of their tenth studio album, The Incident, the band became inactive as Wilson began to focus on his solo career. While they have not broken up, they also have no particular plans beyond "someday", with members all working on separate projects, and Wilson committing himself to his solo work through most of 2013.



On the Sunday of Life - 1991

Up the Downstair - 1993

The Sky Moves Sideways - 1995

Signify - 1996

Coma Divine - 1997

Stupid Dream - 1999

Lightbulb Sun - 2000

Voyage 34: The Complete Trip - 2000

Recordings - 2001

Stars Die - 2002

In Absentia - 2002

Futile - 2003

Deadwing - 2005

Nil Recurring - 2007

Fear of a Blank Planet - 2007

The Incident - 2009


Back to other radios