Ayreon - 01011001

01011001 is the seventh studio album by Arjen Anthony Lucassen's long-running Ayreon project. "01011001" is the binary representation of the ASCII value of the letter Y.

Seventeen singers in total (including Lucassen himself) contributed to the album, more than in any other Ayreon album. Of these, except Lucassen, only Anneke van Giersbergen (ex-The Gathering) and Floor Jansen (After Forever) have sung on previous Ayreon albums: van Giersbergen on Into the Electric Castle, Jansen on The Dream Sequencer.

It also stars, among others, Bob Catley from Magnum, Hansi Kürsch from Blind Guardian, Jørn Lande, and Steve Lee from Gotthard in his final guest appareance before his death in 2010. The album was a commercial and critical success.


The plugin used relies heavily on HTML5 for mp3 playback and so far I get acceptable results only when using Google Chrome. I hope licensing issues will be solved for Mozilla Firefox someday.

Back to Ayreon Music

Back to radio selection

Special thanks for the plug-in: Joseph Moore